Get $10 for signing up!

Custom Search

Cricket 2009 - IPL Highlights, Live Streaming & Live p2p relay

South Africa has become the place to be for fans of international sports. In the next few weeks South Africa stages the 2009 edition of cricket’s Indian Premier League, which starts on Saturday in Cape Town.

The eight team, 59-match IPL tournament has been transferred from India following the inability of the cricket authorities there to agree on a schedule with the national government, fearful of the security implications of staging a major sporting event at the same time as a general election.

The team best served by the shift may be Bangalore Royal Challengers, which has five South African players, including the world-class fast bowler Dale Steyn, plus the South African-born Pietersen. While the Australian spin legend Shane Warne, captain-coach of Rajasthan, could remain the tournament’s dominant personality, his compatriots as a whole are likely to make less impact in 2009, with players on the national team missing much of the tournament to play one-day internationals against Pakistan.

A fresh injection of Bollywood glamour — represented in South Africa this week by the presence of Shah Rukh Khan, owner of the Kolkata Knight Riders, alongside the Indian League commissioner, Lalit Modi, — has come with the investment by Shilpa Shetty, who acknowledges she knows little about cricket, in the reigning champion Rajasthan Royals.

The Team websites are as follows:

Rajasthan Royals

Chennai Super Kings
Delhi Daredevils
Kings XI Punjab
Kolkata Knight Riders
Mumbai Indians
Deccan Chargers
Royal Challengers Bangalore

No comments: